History Of Indian Museum


Though in the beginning Indian Museum was opened with two galleries later on it was transformed into a multipurpose Institution where multi-disciplinary objects have been displayed in its six sections, viz. Art, Archaeology, Anthropology, Zoology, Geology, and Botany.


The museum which was known in the beginning as the “Asiatic Society Museum” subsequently came to be known as the “Imperial Museum” later familiarized as the “Indian Museum”. The museum is more familiar by the name Jadughar or Ajabghar among the visitors.


From the days of the Asiatic Museum, this institution has been rendering its services to the people of India as an epitome of art and culture of India. The role of Indian Museum witnesses the socio-cultural harmony between the Museum and the society.


As a consequence the museum has developed into the largest institution of its kind of the country portraying the legacy and pride of the nation and also being highlighted as one of the pioneering National Institutions in the Constitution of the Republic of India.


The Museum Directorate has three main cultural sections namely, Art, Archaeology, and Anthropology together with eight co-ordinating service units such as Preservation, Publication, Photography, Presentation, Modelling, Education, Library, and Security.


The Museum has its own Medical unit to provide preliminary medical services to all the staffs of the organisation.


The administrative control of the cultural sections, viz. Art, Archaeology, and Anthropology along with the other co-ordinating units/sections rests with the Board of Trustees under the Directorate Office of Indian Museum.


This is an institution which is under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India.